Confession

20140319-143306.jpg

Everybody knows one. Maybe a few. You might even be one! Of course there are the wannabes…because who wouldn’t want to be a(dramatic pause)

Cool-Music Person

That girl who’s always listening to some obscure Swedish electro-punk band. That guy who knows every classic blues artist. They’re super into that indie group whose lyrics you get up to the point where green tea becomes a metaphor for the loneliness of life. You listen to their iPod and nod your head, “Yeah, man, that’s so deep….so true….”. And wish that you were that perceptive.

That said, I must confess-

I am not a cool-music person.

Considering that I taught piano for eleven years, sing in different parameters somewhat seriously, and write songs in intense fits, this is a shameful admission. The coolest I’ve ever gotten was during our wedding- our first dance was to Eric Clapton’s Wonderful Tonight. And that was awesome. At least I think so. :)

These days my radio switches between any country station that plays newer tunes (the ones that the “true” country fans hate because they veer too close to pop) and a homogenized Top 40/pop station that I’m supposed to be too musically mature to like.

Shallow? Maybe.

Here’s the thing. Country music makes me feel like I’m in a wildflower field wearing a green sundress making cloud pictures in the sky. Pop music makes me move, smile, dance. I am not too sophisticated to appreciate a good mood! How could I snub my nose at something everybody wants more of?

Maybe someday I’ll invest the time required to cultivate Cool Music Person taste. And invest the money for the necessary extra-large headphones that go along with it. ;)

But for now I’ll settle with happiness.

About Lora Kathryn

Hi! I'm Lora- painter, nutrition coach, songwriter, hiker, Jesus-follower, art journaler, home restorer, singer, and natural food experimentalist. I delight in being married to my high school sweetheart and parenting our two rescue pups, Wally and Posie. We live in a Civil War era farmhouse in rural Georgia where we enjoy forging a simple, holistic lifestyle.

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

The Quest for 'little S'

The Simental's journey to parenthood through adoption...

The Healthy Honeys

Vibrant Living for Real Moms

The Art of Doing Stuff

curiously enthusiastic living

Alabama Chanin | Journal

curiously enthusiastic living

She Modish

curiously enthusiastic living

curiously enthusiastic living

Cherishing The Cherry Blossoms

Travel stories from Korea, Asia and the world.

amaryllis log

create something

Lora Kathryn

curiously enthusiastic living

SouleMama

curiously enthusiastic living

