Treasure Hunting

20140319-143418.jpg

Some are stumbled upon; the perfect moon snail shell, a wing chair on a suburban curb, a quaint little corner cafe. Others are hunted for; a four-leaf clover, vintage French linens at an antique store, blue-green eggs in the chicken yard.

Whether in the surprise of discovery, or the thrill of the hunt, these treasures give life a bit of sparkle!

One of my luckiest finds was a piano teacher. I loved to sing and write songs when I was a kid, so a couple of friends and I formed a singing group that performed original songs. Our children’s choir director happened to be a piano instructor. She asked me if I wanted to learn how to write music for my songs and to be able to play accompaniment to them. And a simple ‘yes‘ started me on a life-changing journey. Piano lessons set me up to play keys in the church youth band where I met my husband, to make a living teaching piano for eleven years, to learn how to lead worship, and to continue to be involved in the fulfilling arena that is music ministry.

So this weekend keep your eyes open for the treasures along your path. Little or big- you never know what might be waiting!

So what’s one of your most prized treasures? Did you hunt for it? Or did it find you?

About Lora Kathryn

Hi! I'm Lora- painter, nutrition coach, songwriter, hiker, Jesus-follower, art journaler, home restorer, singer, and natural food experimentalist. I delight in being married to my high school sweetheart and parenting our two rescue pups, Wally and Posie. We live in a Civil War era farmhouse in rural Georgia where we enjoy forging a simple, holistic lifestyle.

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

The Quest for 'little S'

The Simental's journey to parenthood through adoption...

The Healthy Honeys

Vibrant Living for Real Moms

The Art of Doing Stuff

curiously enthusiastic living

Alabama Chanin | Journal

curiously enthusiastic living

She Modish

curiously enthusiastic living

curiously enthusiastic living

Cherishing The Cherry Blossoms

Travel stories from Korea, Asia and the world.

amaryllis log

create something

Lora Kathryn

curiously enthusiastic living

SouleMama

curiously enthusiastic living

