Cheap Inspiration, Gotta Love It

20140319-143611.jpg

Yet another bill gets plopped on the table. Do they ever stop?

Though most of the the time I’m a light, joyful person, when those white envelopes start stacking up on my planner (yes, the paper kind of planner), I feel completely buried. And it becomes a death-march to the mailbox.

Needless to say, this is not good for my creative health!

Especially since many of the avenues that get me inspired involve the spending of money; museums, buying new art supplies, antique stores (you know you’re going to find some tiny something that is meant for you!), craft fairs, buying new recipe ingredients…you can see the vicious cycle starting to form!

So for myself and others like me I brainstormed up a list of all the free/cheap things I do when I need a shot of inspiration. Many might be obvious, but in a creative emergency I know I rarely think straight enough to come up with a good idea!

-Photo Walk…outside, urban area, your neighborhood
-Botanical Gardens
-Turn on the radio and find an unfamiliar energetic beat, or find a soulful
station and really listen to the lyrics.

-Exercise. Running gives me great ideas!
-Parks- local, state, national…dog parks
-Get a bit of caffeine in your system. Green tea or coffee, they work for me!
-Do whatever you have to do on the floor. Eat, pay bills, write.

-Sit and watch the sunrise or sunset
-Visit empty show homes that are for sale. Daydream.
-Ask a question on Facebook. Peoples’s minds can be an endless source of inspiration.

-Library. Grab a biography, a poetry book, recipe book, or how-to book.
-Read travel and art blogs, check out Etsy.com, search Pinterest (yes, I’m advocating wasting time online. But with purpose!)
-Go drive down that road you pass all the time that you have no clue where it goes. The one with the broken down split rail fence on the corner. (Those are the best!)

-Dress up for no reason and go anywhere. Prom dress at Wal-Mart. Cowboy costume at Starbucks. Just go do it. It’ll be fun, I promise.
-Play on a playground
-Can I say this? Eavesdrop. It’s soooo interesting!
-People-watch, intentionally. The mall is free. Pick a person and guess his age, occupation, birth order. Figure out what leads you to your conclusions. Guess why he chose his outfit, why he’s at the mall, what mood he’s in.

-Walk a town square three times. See what you notice the last time that you didn’t notice the first two times.
-Play “Google Psychology”: Start a question in the search box on google. “Why does”, “Who is”, or “How to”, and see what it predicts you to ask. It’s interesting to see what the most common questions are!!!
-Browse Barnes & Noble. Always gets my brain to spark!

What’s your go-to for a bit of cheap/free inspiration? I’d love some new ideas!

About Lora Kathryn

Hi! I'm Lora- painter, nutrition coach, songwriter, hiker, Jesus-follower, art journaler, home restorer, singer, and natural food experimentalist. I delight in being married to my high school sweetheart and parenting our two rescue pups, Wally and Posie. We live in a Civil War era farmhouse in rural Georgia where we enjoy forging a simple, holistic lifestyle.

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

The Quest for 'little S'

The Simental's journey to parenthood through adoption...

The Healthy Honeys

Vibrant Living for Real Moms

The Art of Doing Stuff

curiously enthusiastic living

Alabama Chanin | Journal

curiously enthusiastic living

She Modish

curiously enthusiastic living

curiously enthusiastic living

Cherishing The Cherry Blossoms

Travel stories from Korea, Asia and the world.

amaryllis log

create something

Lora Kathryn

curiously enthusiastic living

SouleMama

curiously enthusiastic living

