3 Rainy Day Garden Projects

So you want to be out in your garden getting some work or play done, but it’s raining cats and dogs. What to do? Now I’m not even going to pretend to be an authority in the realm of soil pH, vegetable crop rotation, or rose varieties that grow well in the Deep South….

BUT.

I can obsess over projects like no other. Truly. Skipp calls it being “kicky”…but I think that’s just to make me feel less neurotic. ;)

So a soggy day will not be keeping me from progressing my dream of an old lady yard! Here are a few little things I’ve been up to when I’ve had to keep my garden-minded self indoors.

Make Herb Markers

20140408-094028.jpg
These are just the classic Popsicle sticks that I snipped the ends off of. (A Leatherman knife works well for this.) I painted them grey with acrylic craft paint, then distressed the edges with 220 grit sandpaper. Letterpress style stamps and a bit of white acrylic craft paint finish off these simple markers with the names of my favorite herbs.

Start a Garden Variety Notebook

20140408-094147.jpg
It’s great to have a place to record what flowers and veggies you plant where, which varieties did well, and even sketch your favorites. Vintage look scrapbook paper in a cherry motif applied with a bit of gel medium dresses up this Goodwill sketchbook.

Make a Container Salad Garden

20140408-094305.jpg
Satisfy your urge to plant with an indoor version! In a generous-sized pot (make sure it has a drainage hole) plant a mix of green and purple lettuces, a few of your favorite herbs (I like chives and cilantro in my salads), even an edible flower or two (violets, nasturtiums, etc.). Keep it near a sunny window and whenever a spontaneous salad urge strikes, you’ll be ready!

Keep growing, rain or shine!

About Lora Kathryn

Hi! I'm Lora- painter, nutrition coach, songwriter, hiker, Jesus-follower, art journaler, home restorer, singer, and natural food experimentalist. I delight in being married to my high school sweetheart and parenting our two rescue pups, Wally and Posie. We live in a Civil War era farmhouse in rural Georgia where we enjoy forging a simple, holistic lifestyle.

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

The Quest for 'little S'

The Simental's journey to parenthood through adoption...

The Healthy Honeys

Vibrant Living for Real Moms

The Art of Doing Stuff

curiously enthusiastic living

Alabama Chanin | Journal

curiously enthusiastic living

She Modish

curiously enthusiastic living

curiously enthusiastic living

Cherishing The Cherry Blossoms

Travel stories from Korea, Asia and the world.

amaryllis log

create something

Lora Kathryn

curiously enthusiastic living

SouleMama

curiously enthusiastic living

