What Would You Take from a Burning House?

20140808-124438.jpg

Oh, what a lesson in priorities! I came across the book/blog “The Burning House” and have been completely engrossed with analyzing what people deem the most important stuff. How very intimate, to see into others’ minds this way…

So, of course, I have to add my own collection! It ended up bigger than I expected, and more connected with my family (items as representation) than with my childhood or my adventures. I guess I always try to take them along with me. I also expected to have a stack of the most important books and well-worn clothes. But nope, I concluded that since those things were replaceable I’d rather have more room for one-of-a-kind trinkets and talisman.

I’m participating in creativeeveryday’s daily creativity challenge and since August’s theme is “The Unknown”, this little project of mine was surprisingly fitting. The above are the few things I’d take with me if everything I knew was turned upside down through the loss of home. Bolstered with this smattering of random cherished-ness is how I would choose to face that “unknown”.

So, here’s the final list!!

-My grandmother’s leather suitcase, complete with initials
-Journals (full of songs, musings, prayers and miracles)
-Art Journals (full of the same, only in visual form)

-Letter from my husband on our wedding day
-Postcard my little sister drew elephants on and mailed to me at camp
-Nip, my first Beanie Baby

-Ted, my first stuffed animal, given to me by my grandmother
-Envelope of important papers (birth certificate, ss card, etc.)
-My teenage “rainbow study bible” that is completely marked up from when I started spending time with God

-Linen towels my mom made as a house-warming gift
-Phone (pics and videos)
-Duck tape bracelet my niece made for me

-Wooden pendant my husband carved for me
-Porcelain monogrammed box from my grandmother
-Blue wood burner art my dad made as a kid

-Civil war era hand mirror
-Special Jewelry- Evenstar pendant, 1913 pocket watch from dad, mom’s bracelet, mouse pin that was my oldest sister’s, amethyst birth stone necklace from mom and dad on my 16th birthday

-Box of old photos
-Antique collie statue
-My favorite mugs and glasses, each one representing a loved one

-My husband, pups, and turtle (not pictured)
-I’d also wanted to include some sentimental Christmas ornaments, but didn’t feel like unpacking them, being August and all. :)

I knew I was sentimental, but sheesh!!!! :D

What would you grab?

About Lora Kathryn

Hi! I'm Lora- painter, nutrition coach, songwriter, hiker, Jesus-follower, art journaler, home restorer, singer, and natural food experimentalist. I delight in being married to my high school sweetheart and parenting our two rescue pups, Wally and Posie. We live in a Civil War era farmhouse in rural Georgia where we enjoy forging a simple, holistic lifestyle.

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

The Quest for 'little S'

The Simental's journey to parenthood through adoption...

The Healthy Honeys

Vibrant Living for Real Moms

The Art of Doing Stuff

curiously enthusiastic living

Alabama Chanin | Journal

curiously enthusiastic living

She Modish

curiously enthusiastic living

curiously enthusiastic living

Cherishing The Cherry Blossoms

Travel stories from Korea, Asia and the world.

amaryllis log

create something

Lora Kathryn

curiously enthusiastic living

SouleMama

curiously enthusiastic living

